Andy S. Jagoda, MD, FACEP

Professor and Vice Chair
Residency Program Director
Department of Emergency Medicine
Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, NY


Dr. Jagoda received his Medical degree from Georgetown University in 1982, completed an internship at the Naval Hospital in Bethesda Maryland (NHB) in Basic Medicine in 1983, and completed his residency in Emergency Medicine at Georgetown University / George University / MIEMMS in 1987. Dr. Jagoda is currently the Residency Director, in the Department of Emergency Medicine at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York. His neurological research has focused on the diagnosis and management of seizure disorders in the emergency department, and the management of traumatic brain injury. His other research interests focus on practice guideline development and implementation.

Dr. Jagoda is the co-author of the textbook, Neurologic Emergencies (McGraw-Hill) and of The Prehospital Management of Traumatic Brain Injury (Brain Trauma Foundation Publication). He has edited several issues of Emergency Medicine Clinics of North America dealing with neurological emergencies including Seizures in the Emergency Department, Neurologic Emergencies, and Psychiatric Emergencies. He was the editor of the Neurologic Emergencies section in the textbook Emergency Medicine published by Saunders. He is Associate Editor of the monthly publication Emergency Medicine Practice, and is currently on the Editorial board of Annals of Emergency Medicine. Dr. Jagoda is a member of the Executive Committee of the Brain Attack Coalition at the National Institute of Neurologic Diseases and Stroke, and he is the Co-Director of Clinical Policies Committee of the American College of Emergency Physicians. He was on the Advisory Panel for the Guidelines for the Management of Severe Brain Injury, and for the Stroke Workshop Syllabus developed by the American Academy of Neurology. Dr. Jagoda is an active member of the American College of Emergency Physicians, the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine, the Council of Residency Directors, and the New York Academy of Medicine.